Oh no! Where's the JavaScript?
Your Web browser does not have JavaScript enabled or does not support JavaScript. Please enable JavaScript on your Web browser to properly view this Web site, or upgrade to a Web browser that does support JavaScript.

Hello, and Help!

Last updated on 8 days ago
B
BBQ_TroyJunior Member
Posted 12 days ago
Hi Amiwell79,

Initially I didn't touch any parameters - just let the install process set up the HDD - It already set the file system correctly. I only started playing with the parameters on advice from this thread which was due to all of the errors I was getting trying to install onto a HDD (I even tried several different HDDs). I think I did get a full install eventually on a HDD but it wont boot from the HDD. I'm currently redoing the install to a USB drive and it is going well (no errors unlike the HDDs) but I would prefer an install on a HDD. I have Windows PC's so don't need to put Windows on this one - I'm keen to have a natively installed, stand alone, dedicated AROS One system on this particular PC.

Regards,
B
BBQ_TroyJunior Member
Posted 12 days ago

deadwood wrote:

@deadwood - Did you try to format disk when booted in 'VGA safe mode'? Does it give errors as well?

Alternativelly try formatting with ATA=nodma or ATA=nopci grub boot options. Does any of these options allow you to format disk without issues?

I'll try all of these suggestions but it might be in the morning as its near midnight here now.

Thanks.
N
ntromansMember
Posted 12 days ago
Hmm, as you say very close and clearly there is at least some compatability with the machine's SATA.

Before tyring the low-level format it might just be worth trying a few last things before the disk is wiped:

• As Deadwood said, try booting with the ATA=nodma or ATA=nopci options added to tge Grub line and try the manual copy again to see if that removes the errors.